Enter search words here:

Modal Programs

Transit Section

The Public Transportation Section is responsible for meeting the multimodal transportation requirements outlined in Section 134, Title 23, U.S.C. and Sections 5303, 5307, 5310, 5311 and 5313, Title 49, U.S.C. including management of the Federal Transit Administration ARRA funds.

Further, the Public Transportation Section is responsible for administering rural, elderly/disabled, and urban public transportation programs pursuant to Legislative Act 82-456. 

Urban public transportation planning is administered through the Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPOs).  MPOs are composed of local officials and exist in the urbanized areas of Anniston, Birmingham, Florence, Gadsden, Huntsville, Mobile, Montgomery, Phenix City, Tuscaloosa, Decatur, Dothan, Auburn/Opelika and Lillian. 

Local providers of public transportation are located in 50 counties within the State.

For more information, contact one of the Transit Staff below:

Joe Nix
Transit Section Supervisor
1100 John Overton Drive
Montgomery, Alabama 36110
334.353.6421
SL: 334.239.6824;  962
nixj@dot.state.al.us

Barbara Mitchell
Administrative Support
334.353.6412
mitchellba@dot.state.al.us

Helpful Links

FY 2015 JARC & NF Call for Projects, FY 2015 JARC & NF Cover Letter, FY 2015 JARC & NF Grant Application
NOTE: If this document is altered in any manner, including content
or format, your application will not be considered.

State Management Plan

Policy & Procedures Manual

DBE Public Notice

2014-2016 ALDOT Transit DBE Goal

ALDOT Transit Title VI Plan

ALDOT Transit Title VI Public Notice

Spanish Documents: Título VI Declaración, Procedimientos de Quejas del Título VI,
& Formulario de Quejas del Título VI

Language Identification Cards

Lobbying Standard Form LLL

Intercity Bus Program

Transit Programs of Projects

R.T.A.P.

Human Services Coordinated Transportation Plans

Intercity Bus Service Study 2007

Documents will be made available in alternative formats upon request.

Support Personnel

Bonnie Brackett
Office: 334.353.6425

brackettb@dot.state.al.us
Wiley Brooks
Office: 334.353.6417
SL: 334.239.5531; 49000

brookswi@dot.state.al.us
Robert Echols

Office: 334.353.6422

echolsr@dot.state.al.us
Linda Fontaine
Office: 334.353.6426

fontainel@dot.state.al.us
James Giles
Office: 334.353.6419

gilesj@dot.state.al.us
Barbara Hendricks
Office: 334.353.6424

hendricksb@dot.state.al.us
Sharon Coats
Office: 334.353.6443

coatss@dot.state.al.us
Tommy Thomson
Office: 334.353.6446

thomsont@dot.state.al.us