Modal Programs is part of the Transportation Planning and Modal Programs Bureau at the Alabama Department of Transportation. Formerly the Multimodal Bureau, a variety of programs are administered under the umbrella of Modal Programs, to include Metropolitan Planning, Transit, Special Programs, and the Rail-Highway Safety sections. In addition, Modal Programs has an Office Management section and a Financial Management section. Please see the contacts below for the different areas.

Randy R. Stroup is the Assistant Bureau Chief for the Modal Programs area of Transportation Planning and Modal Programs Bureau and in charge of the Special Programs and Rail-Highway Safety Sections daily operations.

Sonya R. Baker is the Assistant Bureau Chief for the Metropolitan Planning and Transit sections of Modal Programs.

Administrative

Randy R. Stroup Acting Bureau Chief (334)353-6455 stroupr@dot.state.al.us
Sonya R. Baker Assistant Bureau Chief for Metropolitan Planning and Transit (334)353-6403 bakers@dot.state.al.us
Catrina Perry Administrative Support Assistant (334)353-6405 perryca@dot.state.al.us

Office Management Section

Dorothy Smiley Transportation Office Manager (334)353-6413 smileyd@dot.state.al.us
Sherri Williams Administrative Support Assistant (334)353-6400 williamsshe@dot.state.al.us

Financial Management Section

Amy Gentry Account Clerk (334)353-6409 gentrya@dot.state.al.us
Ann Thompkins Accountant (334)353-6437 thompkinsp@dot.state.al.us

Metropolitian Planning Section

Joe Nix Transportation Planner, Sr. (334)353-6421 nixj@dot.state.al.us
Toni Arrington Transportation Planner (334)353-6631 arringtont@dot.state.al.us
Karen Carr-Jones Transportation Technologist (334)353-6416 carrk@dot.state.al.us
Transportation Planner
Dina Bosley Administrative Support Assistant (334)242-6519 bosleyd@dot.state.al.us
James Doolin Transportation Planner, Sr. (334)242-6097 doolinj@dot.state.al.us
Christopher Azubuike Transportation Manager (334)242-6099 azubuikec@dot.state.al.us
Bryan Fair Civil Engineering Graduate (334)242-6098 fairb@dot.state.al.us

Transit Section

Wiley Brooks Transit Section Supervisor (334)353-6417 brookswi@dot.state.al.us
Barbara Hendricks Transportation Planner (334)353-6424 hendricksb@dot.state.al.us
Bonnie Brackett Transportation Tech (334)353-6425 brackettb@dot.state.al.us
James Giles Transportation Planner (334)353-6419 gilesj@dot.state.al.us
Janice Thomas Transportation Planner (334)353-6443 thomasjan@dot.state.al.us
Robert Echols Transportation Technologist (334)353-6422 echolsr@dot.state.al.us
Tommy Thomson Transportation Planner (334)353-6446 thomsont@dot.state.al.us

Special Programs Section

Robert "Bob" Kratzer Special Programs Manager (334)353-6442 kratzer@dot.state.al.us
Corean Johnson Administrative Support Assistant (334)353-6438 johnsoncor@dot.state.al.us
Rebecca Fulks Statewide Bicycle & Pedestrian Coordinator (334)353-6439 fulksr@dot.state.al.us
Jason Phelps EA I (334)353-6430 phelpsj@dot.state.al.us
Tina Milton Environmental Coordinator (334)353-6441 miltont@dot.state.al.us

"The Road to Success is Always Under Construction"
~ Lily Tomlin