The Metropolitan Planning section is primarily responsible for developing statewide transportation plans and assisting local Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPO’s) in the fourteen urbanized areas of Alabama, helping develop comprehensive, cooperative and continuing transportation plans as required by USC Title 23, Sec. 134 AND Sec. 135. These Metropolitan Planning areas are Anniston, Auburn/Opelika, Birmingham, Daphne, Decatur, Dothan, Gadsden, Huntsville, Lillian/Pensacola, Mobile, Montgomery, Phenix City, Shoals, and Tuscaloosa.

For more information, contact one of the Metropolitan Planning Staff below:

Sonya R. Baker
Assistant Bureau Chief - Metropolitan Planning and Transit
1100 John Overton Drive
Montgomery, Alabama 36110
(334)353-6403

Dina Bosley
Administrative Support Assistant
334.242.6519
bosleyd@dot.state.al.us


Metropolitan Planning Support Staff Contacts
Bryan Fair Civil Engineering Graduate (334)242-6098 fairb@dot.state.al.us
Christopher Azubuike Transportation Manager (334)242-6099 azubuikec@dot.state.al.us
James Doolin Transportation Planner, Sr. (334)242-6097 doolinj@dot.state.al.us
Joe Nix Transportation Planner, Sr. (334)353-6421 nixj@dot.state.al.us
Karen Carr-Jones Transportation Technologist (334)353-6519 carrk@dot.state.al.us
Kenneth Anderson Transportation Technologist (334)242-6090 andersonk@dot.state.al.us
Steve Williams Transportation Planner (334)242-6425 williamsjs@dot.state.al.us
Toni Arrington Transportation Planner (334)353-6631 arringtont@dot.state.al.us