

Kay Ivey

Governor

ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

Local Transportation Bureau 1409 Coliseum Blvd., Montgomery, Alabama 36110-2060 Phone: (334) 242-6206 FAX: (334) 353-6530 Internet: http://www.dot.state.al.us



John R. Cooper Transportation Director

April 11, 2018

LOCAL TRANSPORTATION BUREAU MEMORANDUM 2018-16

TO:

Public Transportation Providers, Metropolitan Planning Organizations and Regional Planning Organizations in the Appalachian Region

FROM:

D.E. (Ed) Phillips, Jr., P.E., Local Transportation Bureau Chief

REFERENCE: TRANSFER OF FISCAL YEAR 2016 APPALACHIAN DEVELOPMENT PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION ASSISTANCE FUNDS

The Alabama Department of Transportation (ALDOT) is providing notification of a potential transfer of \$5,000,000.00 in federal funds from the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) to the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA). The apportionment of FTA funds in the Appalachian Development Public Transportation Assistance Program (ADTAP) provides operating funds to public transportation providers in the Appalachian Region of the State. Requests for operational funding by public transportation providers in this region of the state are currently met with other funding sources from FTA programs.

ALDOT is requesting comments from our public transportation providers operating in the Appalachian Region of the State regarding any unmet requests for public transportation operational funds. Please submit any comments or questions in writing to this office regarding this funding transfer within 45 days of the date of this letter to the address below.

> Mr. D. E. Phillips, Jr., P. E. Alabama Department of Transportation 1100 John Overton Drive Montgomery, AL. 36110

The intent of this transfer is to secure excess ADTAP public transportation operational dollars for expenditure on highway construction projects in the Appalachian Region of the State. The ALDOT is appreciative of your assistance in this matter.

If you should have any questions or comments, please contact Wiley Brooks at (334) 353-6417.

RRS/DEP/dep

c: Mr. John R. Cooper, Transportation Director

Mr. Don Arkle, P.E., Chief Engineer

Mr. Ed Austin, P.E., Assistant Chief Engineer, Policy & Planning

Mr. Clint Andrews, Planning & Program Management FHWA Alabama Division

Ms. Roxanne Ledesma, ALDOT Grants Manager-States Team, FTA Region 4