The Metropolitan Planning section is primarily responsible for developing statewide transportation plans and assisting local Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPO’s) in the fourteen urbanized areas of Alabama, helping develop comprehensive, cooperative and continuing transportation plans as required by USC Title 23, Sec. 134 AND Sec. 135. These Metropolitan Planning areas are Anniston, Auburn/Opelika, Birmingham, Daphne, Decatur, Dothan, Gadsden, Huntsville, Lillian/Pensacola, Mobile, Montgomery, Phenix City, Shoals, and Tuscaloosa.

For more information, contact one of the Metropolitan Planning Staff below:

Sonya R. Baker
Assistant Bureau Chief - Metropolitan Planning and Transit
1100 John Overton Drive
Montgomery, Alabama 36110

Dina Bosley
Administrative Support Assistant

Metropolitan Planning Support Staff Contacts
Bryan Fair Civil Engineering Graduate (334)242-6098
Christopher Azubuike Transportation Manager (334)242-6099
James Doolin Transportation Planner, Sr. (334)242-6097
Joe Nix Transportation Planner, Sr. (334)353-6421
Karen Carr-Jones Transportation Technologist (334)353-6519
Kenneth Anderson Transportation Technologist (334)242-6090
Steve Williams Transportation Planner (334)242-6425
Toni Arrington Transportation Planner (334)353-6631