Transit is a section located within the Transportation Planning and Modal Programs at the Alabama Department of Transportation. The Transit Section is responsible for meeting the multimodal transportation requirements outlined in Section 134, Title 23, U.S.C. and Sections 5303, 5307, 5310, 5311 and 5313, Title 49, U.S.C. including management of the Federal Transit Administration ARRA funds.

Further, the Public Transportation Section is responsible for administering rural, elderly/disabled, and urban public transportation programs pursuant to Legislative Act 82-456.

Urban public transportation planning is administered through the Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPOs). MPOs are composed of local officials and exist in the urbanized areas of Anniston, Birmingham, Florence, Gadsden, Huntsville, Mobile, Montgomery, Phenix City, Tuscaloosa, Decatur, Dothan, Auburn/Opelika and Lillian.

Local providers of public transportation are located in 50 counties within the State.

Placeholder image
For more information, contact one of the Transit Staff below:

Sonya R. Baker
Metropolitan Planning and Transit Manager
1100 John Overton Drive
Montgomery, Alabama 36110

Wiley Brooks
Transit Section Supervisor
SL: 334.239.5531, 49000

**NOTE: If this document is altered in any manner, including content or format, your application will not be considered.**

Helpful Links

Documents will be made available in alternative formats upon request.

Transit Support Personnel
Bonnie Brackett Transportation Technologist (334)353-6425
Robert Echols Transportation Technologist (334)353-6422
James Giles Transportation Planner (334)353-6419
Barbara Hendricks Transportation Planner (334)353-6424
Janice Thomas Transportation Planner (334)353-6443
Tommy Thomson Transportation Planner (334)353-6446