The Planning Section assists the 14 Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPOs) staff in the urbanized areas in developing comprehensive, cooperative, and continuing transportation plans as required by 23 USC 134 and 135. The Planning Section also offers guidance and assistance to the MPOs and the 12 Rural Planning Organizations (RPOs) in the development, preparation, approval, and administration of the Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP), Transportation Improvement Program (TIP), Long-Range Transportation Plan (LRTP), and other required documents. In addition, the Planning Section also maintains allocated funding balances and executes funding agreements between the State and Local Public Agencies (LPAs) for all projects involving State and Federal funds.

Urban Area Map

For more information, contact one of the Planning Staff below:

Planning Contacts
Michael Hora, P. E. Asst. Bureau Chief, Planning (334) 242-6517 horam@dot.state.al.us
Bryan Fair, P. E. Asst. Planning Engineer (334) 242-6098 fairb@dot.state.al.us
Karen Carr-Jones MPO Coordinator (334) 242-6519 carrk@dot.state.al.us
Scott Moseley MPO Coordinator (334) 353-6231 moseleyg@dot.state.al.us
Gay Norris Letting Coordinator (334) 242-6239 norrisg@dot.state.al.us
Jason Phelps Funding Coordinator (334) 353-6430 phelpsj@dot.state.al.us